Hidden Carols

Can you find the Hidden Carols? They’re cleverly woven in throughout this celebratory Christmas favourite for String Quartets/Ensembles!


In stock


Suitable for ABRSM Grades 1-3

Hidden Carols is a suite of 3 movements, cleverly written with traditional Christmas carols woven into the different parts. The first movement, in G major, starts with ‘Good King Wenceslas’, then the 2nds, 3rds/violas and cello pass around the tune of “While Shepherds watched their flocks by night’. As this melody flows around the ensemble, the 2nd violins begin to play ‘Once in Royal David’s City ” in 3rd position. The movement finishes with a beautiful combination of ‘O little town of Bethlehem” and ‘Good King Wenceslas’.

The lively 2nd movement in D major is in 6/8 time. It starts with I Saw Three Ships Come Sailing In, then the 2nd violins have the tune On Christmas day all Christians sing in the second section, before passing the melody lines over to the violas and cellos to finish.

The third movement, in F major, is a mixture of Away in a Manger, The First Noel, and The Holly and the Ivy. Then, as the final ‘Vivace’ section gives way to a triumphant, celebratory finish, we hear the strains of We Wish You A Merry Christmas as the piece draws to a grand, uplifting close!

Hidden Carols is so fun to play… and to listen to! It’s a guaranteed seasonal sensation for audience and performers alike!

Additional information

Weight 250 g
Dimensions 299 × 218 × 5 mm


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Hidden Carols”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *